Board of Directors / Mentors /Coordinators

Kat Tucker

President of the SOWEGA Beekeepers Club since August, 2020.  Kat is also the SBC Advertising Executive, Event Coordinator, Social Media Manager, Web Designer and Fundraising Director.

  • Black Twitter Icon

Stan Okon

Vice President of the SOWEGA Beekeepers Club since August, 2020.  Stan is also the School Dean of the Beekeeping School for Beginners, Bee Lab Mentor and Winner of the 2021 SBC Black Jar Best Tasting Honey Award.

  • Black Twitter Icon

Madison Akridge

Treasurer of the SOWEGA Beekeepeers Club since January 2022.  Madison writes beautiful bee poetry and has been keeping bees for five years.

  • Black Twitter Icon

Sophie Raburn

Secretary and Volunteer Coordinator, Sophie was a student at the SBC Beekeeping for Beginners School in 2021.  She caught her first swarm a few months after school and does photography at the Bee Labs.  Sophie volunteers at SBC events and is Winner of the 2021 SOWEGA Beekeepers Club Rookie Beekeeper of The Year Award.

  • Black Twitter Icon

James Morgan

Member of the board, keeper of two backyard hives and the UGA County Extension Agent in Dougherty County, James provides leadership for the urban horticulture and 4-H livestock programs, as well as the commercial industry in row crops and pecans.  He coordinates a Master Gardener Extension Volunteer program and facilitates production meetings with UGA specialists for farmers.

  • Black Twitter Icon

Calvin Powell

Calvin gives presentations about flow hives and serves as member of the board with the SOWEGA Beekeepers Club since January 2022.

  • Black Twitter Icon

Dewayne Pitts

Beekeeping School Instructor and member of the board Dewayne Pitts is a long standing member of the SOWEGA Beekeepers Club.  He also helps maintain the apiary

at the home of former

President, Jimmy Carter.

  • Black Twitter Icon

Honorary Lifetime Member

  • Amazon
  • A close up of flying bee isolated on white background